University of Alaska Fairbanks Profile

The University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) is the flagship campus of the University of Alaska System (USA). It was established in 1917 as the Alaska Agricultural College and School of Mines.

The university has seven rural and urban campuses: Bristol Bay Campus, Chukchi Campus, Fairbanks Campus, Interior-Aleutians Campus, Kuskokwim Campus, Northwest Campus, and Tanana Valley Campus. Research activities are organized into several institutes and centers such as the International Arctic Research Center, the Institute of Northern Engineering, the Institute of Arctic Biology, the Geophysical Institute, etc.

It has the following colleges and schools:
  • School of Education
  • School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
  • School of Management
  • School of Natural Resources and Agricultural Sciences
  • College of Engineering and Mines
  • College of Liberal Arts
  • College of Natural Science and Mathematics
  • College of Rural and Community Development
  • Graduate School
Accreditation and Ranking Profile:

- Placed at Tier 4 among the best national universities in the US News & World Report 2009 rankings.

- Placed in the rank range of 303-401th globally in the Shanghai Jiao Tong University's Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) 2008.

- The university is fully-accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges.

- The College of Engineering and Mines offers 14 graduate degree programs. It is the only institution in Alaska that offers six undergraduate degrees fully-accredited by the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology.

- The School of Education is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).

- The computer science B.S. program is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET.

* Next: University of Alaska Anchorage - Rankings