Universities in Tamil Nadu

Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham (or Amrita University) is a multi-disciplinary, NAAC A grade accredited, research and teaching university in India. Amrita has also been ranked in the ivy league of Indian universities in a review of deemed universities by the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) of the Government of India.

Alagappa University is a member of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU) and the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU). It has been accredited with 'A' Grade by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC).

AMET University is the only university of its kind in India that caters to the needs of Shipping Industry not just in India, but the world over. It has obtained Certification to ISO 9001: 2000 Standards from Det Norske Veritas, Norway. On 21 August 2007 AMET was conferred Deemed University status by UGC/MHRD on the strength of its Maritime courses and training, and thus become India’s first and the only University in Maritime Education.

Annamalai University is a unitary, teaching, and residential university. The National Assessment and Accreditation Council has accredited Annamalai University at the 'B++' (80 – 85) level among the universities.

Kalasalingam University follows Choice Based Credit System (CBCS), which is followed by leading universities around the world including Indian Institutes of Technologies (IITs). It has been accredited by NAAC with B grade with a CGPA of 2.81.

Noorul Islam University is a private co-educational university located in Kumaracoil, Thuckalay in kanyakumari District of Tamilnadu, India. All the eligible Under-Graduate Programmes and post graduate programmes of M.B.A and M.C.A are accredited by the National Board of Accreditation (NBA), AICTE.

List of major universities in Tamil Nadu:
  • Alagappa University
  • Amrita University
  • Anna University
  • Avinashilingam University for Women
  • B S Abdur Rahman University
  • Bharath University
  • Bharathiar University
  • Bharathidasan University
  • Gandhigram Rural University
  • Kalasalingam University
  • Karpagam University
  • Karunya University
  • Madurai Kamaraj University
  • Manonmaniam Sundaranar University
  • Mother Teresa Women's University
  • Noorul Islam University
  • Periyar Maniammai University
  • Periyar University
  • SASTRA University
  • Sathyabama University
  • Sri Chandrasekharendra Saraswathi Viswa Mahavidyalaya
  • Sri Ramachandra University
  • SRM University
  • Tamil Nadu Agricultural University
  • Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University
  • Tamil Nadu Dr. M.G.R. Medical University
  • Tamil Nadu Open University
  • Tamil Nadu Physical Education and Sports University
  • Tamil Nadu Teachers Education University
  • Tamil Nadu Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
  • Tamil University
  • Tamil Virtual University
  • Thiruvalluvar University
  • University of Madras
  • Vel Tech University
  • VIT University
  • Vinayaka Missions University
* Next: Universities in Sikkim