University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) is part of the University of Arkansas System located in the U.S. state of Arkansas.

It has six academic units:
- College of Medicine
- College of Nursing
- College of Pharmacy
- College of Health Related Professions
- Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health
- Graduate School

Centers & Institutes:
- Area Health Education Centers
- Jones Eye Institute
- Myeloma Institute
- Psychiatric Research Institute
- Reynolds Institute on Aging
- Stephens Spine Institute
- UAMS Medical Center
- Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute

The university is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA). The UAMS College of Medicine is accredited by the ACCME (Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.


- 45th in the “U.S. News: Best Medical Schools - Primary Care ranking' (2010).

- 40th in the US News ranking of Best Graduate Nursing Programs (2008).

- 42nd among the Best Graduate Pharmacy Programs (USNWR 2008).

- 29th in Health Disciplines: Public Health (USNWR 2008).

- The Department of Geriatrics is one of the best in the nation, listed in the top 10 geriatrics programs in medical schools by U.S. News and World Report by 2003.

* Suggested Reading: Top Accredited Medical Schools