Wayland Baptist University Profile

Founded in 1908, Wayland Baptist University is private Baptist university located in Plainview, Texas (U.S.A.). It is one of the largest Southern Baptist universities in the nation. The main campus is in Plainview (TX), with other campuses in Amarillo, Lubbock, San Antonio, and Wichita Falls, Texas; Anchorage and Fairbanks, Alaska: Sierra Vista and Phoenix, Arizona; Aiea, Hawaii; Albuquerque and Clovis, New Mexico; Altus, Oklahoma; and Kenya, Africa.

The university has eight schools:
- School of Business
- School of Behavioral and Social Sciences
- School of Education
- School of Fine Arts
- School of Languages and Literature
- School of Math and Science
- School of Music
- School of Religion and Philosophy

It offers more than 40 undergraduate majors, a number of pre-professional programs, and eight graduate programs. The School of Business offers also the Master of Business Administration (MBA) degree with the following specializations:
- General Business
- Health Care Administration
- Human Resource Management
- International Management
- Management
- Management Information Systems

It also offers degree programs via online:
- Online Bachelor of Applied Science
- Master of Arts in Management
- Master of Christian Ministry
- Master of Education
- Master of Public Administration

Accreditations and Rankings:

- Placed in the Tier 3 among the Best Master’s Universities in the West ("America's Best Colleges" 2010 edition of U.S. News & World Report).

- The university is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award degrees at the associate, baccalaureate, and master's levels. It is affiliated with the Baptist General Convention of Texas.

- It is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Music. The university is also accredited by the Texas Education Agency for teacher certification.

* Next Post: Ouachita Baptist University ranked No. 1