University of British Columbia (UBC)

Established in 1908, The University of British Columbia (UBC) is a top Canadian university and one of the finest universities in the world. It has been placed among the top 40 research-intensive universities in the world and ranked among the top three Canadian universities by research funding.

The University has the following Faculties and Schools: Faculty of Applied Science; Faculty of Arts; Faculty of Dentistry; Faculty of Education; Faculty of Forestry; Faculty of Graduate Studies; Faculty of Land and Food Systems; Faculty of Law; Faculty of Medicine; Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences; Faculty of Science; School of Architecture & Landscape Architecture; School of Audiology and Speech Sciences; Sauder School of Business; School of Community & Regional Planning; School of Environmental Health; School of Nursing; School of Human Kinetics; School of Journalism; School of Library, Archival and Information Studies; School of Music; School of Social Work; School of Population & Public Health; UBC Continuing Studies; College of Health Disciplines; College for Interdisciplinary Studies.


- 3rd in Canada and 40th in the world (THE – QS World University Rankings 2009).

- 36th among the world's best universities (Shanghai Jiao Tong University Institute of Higher Education rankings 2008).

- 34th globally in the 2008 Times Higher Education Supplement international ranking.

- 41st in the Wuhan University Ranking of Top 500 Universities (2007).

- 2nd among the Best Medical Doctoral Universities in Canada (Maclean’s Guide 2007).

- 18th internationally in the THES Ranking of Top 50 Universities for Peer Review (2007).