University of Saskatchewan

Founded in 1907, The University of Saskatchewan (U of S) is a top leading public research university in Canada. It offers a range of undergraduate and graduate degrees, diplomas and certificates in over 100 disciplines.

The University of Saskatchewan has the following Colleges: Agriculture and Bioresources; Arts and Science; Edwards School of Business; Dentistry; Education; Engineering; Graduate Studies and Research; Kinesiology; Law; Medicine; Nursing; Pharmacy and Nutrition; Western College of Veterinary Medicine; Continuing Centre for Distance Education.

Continuing Professional Learning (University of Saskatchewan) is fully accredited by the Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS) and the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME).

Notable alumni of the University include the Honourable Fredrick W. Johnson (16th Lieutenant-Governor of Saskatchewan), Henry Taube (Nobel Prize in Chemistry), Dr. Gordon Thiessen (former Governor of the Bank of Canada), the Right Honourable Raymon Hnatyshyn (24th Governor General of Canada), etc.


- Tied for 9th place with the University of Ottawa and the University of Western Ontario, out of 15 universities in the medical-doctoral category (Maclean’s magazine 2009). In the national reputation ranking, the U of S finished 8th overall.

- Ranked 12th in Canada and 194th in the world (Webometrics Ranking of World universities, July 2009).

- 9th overall in the medical/doctoral category (Maclean’s annual university rankings 2008).