University of Minnesota Law School

The University of Minnesota Law School is recognized as one of the country's best public law schools, offering the degree of Juris Doctor (J.D.), Masters of Law (LL.M.) for Foreign Lawyers, and joint & dual degree programs (J.D./M.B.A.; J.D./M.P.A; J.D./M.A., J.D./M.B.S., J.D./M.P.P., J.D./M.S., etc.). The Law School offers additional comprehensive programs in Criminal Law, Constitutional Law, Environmental Law, Intellectual Property Law, and Public Interest Law.

The School has one of the largest law libraries in the country. The world-class library is ranked seventh in size among law school libraries in the United States. The library has been ranked the fourth-best law library in the United States by the National Jurist.

Notable alumni of the school include: Russell A. Anderson (former Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court), Wendell Anderson (former Governor of Minnesota and United States Senator), James J. Blanchard (former Governor of Michigan and U.S. Ambassador to Canada), Willard Boyd (former President, University of Iowa), David Brink (former President, American Bar Association), Alden W. Clausen (former President, World Bank), Norris Darrell (former President, American Law Institute), Richard Maxwell (former Dean of Law, UCLA), etc.

The School's bar passage and employment rates are among the highest in the nation for law school graduates. The School have won the national Burton Award for excellence in legal writing.


- Ranked 20th in the U.S. News & World Report "Best Law Schools" rankings 2010.

- 11th overall in the annual 2009 Judging the Law Schools rankings.

* Next: University of Minnesota Engineering Ranking