William Mitchell College of Law

William Mitchell College of Law (WMCL) is a private law school located in St. Paul, Minnesota, USA. It offers full-time and part-time legal education in pursuit of the Juris Doctor (J.D.) degree.

William Mitchell has been accredited by the American Bar Association since 1938. The college is also a member of the Association of American Law Schools (AALS), is recognized by the United States Department of Higher Education, and is licensed by the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.

Notable WMCL alumni include Warren E. Burger (the fifteenth Chief Justice of the United States), Douglas Amdahl (former Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court), Elmer A. Benson (former United States Senator and Governor of Minnesota), William T. Francis (former U.S. Ambassador to Liberia), James T. Harrison (former Justice of the Montana Supreme Court), Dewey W. Johnson (former United States Congressman), John J. McDonough (former Mayor of St. Paul), Thomas D. Schall (former United States Senator), etc.

The College offers merit scholarships to its students. All applicants are considered for merit scholarships at the same time that they are considered for admission; no separate application is necessary.

Ranking Profile:

- 24th in the US News Ranking of Part-time Law Schools 2010.

- Ranked in the third tier among the 184 law schools and was recognized for nationally ranked programs in legal writing (26th) and clinical training (29th) in the U.S. News & World Report 2008).

- In the fall of 2008, the National Jurist ranked William Mitchell's public interest programs 12th nationally.

- Listed as one of the seven "Most Underrated Law Schools" in the Midwest (Vault's rankings in 2007).