Western Connecticut State University

Founded in 1903, Western Connecticut State University (WestConn or WCSU) is a public university located in Danbury, Connecticut (US).

The University has the following schools: School of Arts & Sciences; School of Professional Studies; Ancell School of Business; School of Visual and Performing Arts; Division of Graduate Studies and External Programs.

The Ancell School of Business is composed of the following business administration departments: Accounting, Finance, Management, Management Information Systems, Marketing, and the Division of Justice and Law Administration (JLA).

The Division of Graduate Studies offers a range of degree programs including the Master of Arts in Earth & Planetary Sciences; Master of Arts in English; Master of Arts in History; Master of Arts in Mathematics; Master of Arts in Teaching; Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.); Master of Science (M.S.) in Music Education; etc. The School of Professional Studies (SPS) offers degrees such as Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Bachelor of Arts in Social Work, Doctor of Education In Instructional Leadership, etc.

Western Connecticut State University is accredited by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Inc., the Board of Governors of Higher Education, State of Connecticut; the American Chemical Society, the Collegiate Commission on Nursing Education; the Connecticut State Department of Education; the Council for Accreditation of Counseling & Related Educational Programs; the Council on Social Work Education (Baccalaureate level); and the National Association of Schools of Music.


- Placed among Tier 4 Master's Universities (North) by US News & World Report (2010).

* Next: Southern Connecticut State University